“Kalna Kaibēni ” also belongs to the union of 4 museums “Orisāre” of Vecpiebalga community. Brothers Kaudzītes museum was founded in 1929 and is the oldest memorial museum in Latvia. It is also a historical monument of Latvian schools of 19th century. Brothers Reinis and Matīss Kaudzītes have written the first Latvian novel “The times of land surveyors” and nearly fifty other books during their life in this house. From 1868 till 1882 there was a school where Matīss was its teacher and Reinis – his assistant teacher. The school had a good name because of its teachers work. They taught their pupils to observe things, draw conclusions and act without assistance, understand the meaning and sense of things and apparitions, perceive and enjoy the beauty. The number of pupils increased and a bigger building was needed. In 1882 the school got a new building not far from “Kalna Kaibēni” called Ogrēni- school. Brothers Kaudzītes bought “Kalna Kaibēni” for themselves and continued teaching in Ogrēni- school.
The museum displays the interior and life style of that time, household objects, souvenirs from brothers` trips. It gives impression about writers` life, teaching methods, social and literary activities.
Visitors can meet wooden sculptures in the garden of the museum which are the characters from the first Latvian novel. It is nice to spend some time in the memory corner or to watch the hills of Piebalga from the platform over the trees.
Kaudzītes Reiņa 170. dzimšanas dienas atceres izstāde
Izstāde: „Romānam „Mērnieku laiki”- 130’’Adrese:
“Kalna Kaibēni”, Vecpiebalga, Vecpiebalga community, LV4840Kontakti:
The museum is open 15th May - 15th October
Wednesdays – Sundays, 10.00 – 17.00